November 18, 2016



Smithfield, R.I.--The Rhode Island College womenís swimming team fell to Western New England, 122.0-82.0 in a non-conference contest held at Bryant Universityís Chace Athletic Center on Friday evening.


Senior Abbie Leazes (Providence, RI) notched a pair of first place finishes for RIC, taking first in both the 400-yard individual medley (5:24.04) and the 500-yard freestyle (5:59.74). She also finished second in the 200-yard fly (2:58.75).



Senior Abbie Leazes 


Junior Sydney Curran (North Kingstown, RI) also recorded a pair of first place finishes for the Anchorwomen, winning the 200-yard breaststroke (2:50.89) and the 200-yard individual medley (2:38.93). Curran also swam the second leg of the teamís 200-yard medley relay (2:22.54) which tallied a second-place finish.


Freshman Vanessa Dao (Revere, MA) took home first place in the 50-yard backstroke (35.01) and recorded a pair of second place finishes in the 50-yard freestyle (31.11) and the 200-yard backstroke (2;54.00).  Dao also swam the opening leg of the 200-yard medley relay (2:22.54) which notched a second-place finish.


Sophomore Courtney Payne (Waterford, CT) tallied second place finishes for the Anchorwomen in the 200-yard freestyle (2:34.60), the 50-yard breaststroke (39.87) and the 100-yard freestyle (1:09.42). Payne also swam the third leg of the second place 200-yard medley relay (2:22.54).


Rounding out the performers for RIC was freshman Jianna Hodge (North Providence, RI), who tallied a third place finish in the 50-yard freestyle (41.05) and a fourth place finish in the 100-yard freestyle (1:31.57).


Leading the way for Western New England was junior Erika Sheinhait (Framingham, MA) with a pair of first place finishes. She notched a first place finish in the 200-yard freestyle (2:17.59) and the 100-yard freestyle (1:01.91). She also swam the lead leg of the 200-yard medley relay (2:08.05) that took home first-place.


In upcoming action, Rhode Island College will travel to Plymouth State for a Little East Conference contest on Saturday, Dec. 3 (7 p.m.)