April 1, 2013



Providence, R.I.-Rhode Island College Head Menís Basketball Coach Bob Walsh was named a finalist for the 2013 Glenn Robinson National Coach of the Year on Monday afternoon.


The other finalists include Chris Bartley (Worcester Polytechnic Institute), Luke Flockerzi (Rochester), David Hixon (Amherst), Steve Howes (Catholic), Matt Logie (Whitworth), Mike Maker (Williams), Mike Miller (Alvernia), Todd Raridon (North Central), Michael Schauer (Wheaton), Bob Semling (UW-Stevens Point), Jim Shaw (Rose-Hulman), Tom Spanbauer (Cortland State), Johnny Tauer (St. Thomas) and Kevin Vande Streek (Calvin).


The award is presented annually to the top Div. III men's basketball coach. Named after the longtime Franklin & Marshall coach, Robinson has over 800 wins and is currently twelfth on the all-time wins list. He has taken F&M to NCAA Div. III tournament 22 times. Robinson guided the Diplomats to the Div. III Final Four in 1979, 1991, 1996, 2000 and 2009. This season, he picked up his 23rd 21-plus win season.




The 2013 award will be presented on April 5 at the awards banquet in Atlanta, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.


 "Wow, it's a great honor to even be mentioned for an award like that," Walsh said. "To be in the same company with some of the best college basketball coaches in the country is quite a thrill. I go back to the trust and commitment of our players, and the way they challenged me to be great every day this year. I'm very fortunate to coach the kids I get to coach every day."


So far this year, Walsh has received the Jim Baron Div. III Coach of the Year by the Rhode Island Basketball Media and was named the Little East Conference Coach of the Year.


He led the Anchormen to a 26-4 overall record and a 13-1 mark in Little East Conference play to win the leagueís Regular Season Championship. Rhode Island College defeated UMass Dartmouth and Southern Maine to become the first team in conference history to advance to seven straight Little East Conference Tournament Championship games. The Anchormen utilized their hallmark defensive pressure to outlast Keene State and capture the program's fifth LEC Conference Championship trophy.




After dispatching Hobart, 62-59, in overtime in the First Round of the 2013 NCAA Div. III Menís Basketball Tournament, the Anchormen fell in overtime to Morrisville State in the Second Round, 66-61.


The Anchormen were one of only four programs in the nation to compete in the NCAA Div. III Men's Basketball Tournament in each of the last seven seasons.