January 18, 2014



Bronx, N.Y.-Fourteen wrestlers placed in the top six of their respective weight classes as Rhode Island College won the 2014 College of Mt. St. Vincent Dolphin Invitational on Saturday afternoon.


The Anchormen totaled a team score of 128, outdistancing second place New York University (110.0), third place Bridgewater State (84.5) and fourth place King's College (77.5) to claim the top spot.



 Freshman Justin Caparco, junior Jonathan Murray & Senior Silas Murray


Junior Jonathan Murray (Brentwood, NY), currently ranked No. 2 in New England, won the 125 lbs. bracket with a 4-0 mark. Murray won twice by fall en route to the title.



 Junior Jonathan Murray


Senior Silas Murray (Brentwood, NY), currently ranked No. 1 in New England, won at 133 lbs. with a 4-0 mark.



 Senior Silas Murray


Freshman Justin Caparco (Johnston, RI) won at 174 lbs. with a 4-0 mark on the day.


Junior Joseph Mahoney (Dedham, MA) placed second at 174 lbs., losing to Caparco in the finals and going 3-1 with a trio of pins.


Junior Joseph Slane (Tomkins Cove, NY) finished third at 149 lbs., going 3-1 with a pin. Slane is currently ranked No. 5 in New England. 


Freshman John Georges (Cranston, RI) placed fourth at 197 lbs., going 2-0 on the day.


Five Anchormen took home fifth place finishes in their respective weight classes: Sophomore 141 lbs. Chris Pecora (Carmel, NY), freshman 149 lbs. Thomas Whitaker (Gainesville, VA), freshman 157 lbs. Kyle Lake (Toms River, NJ), sophomore 165 lbs. Brandon Conrad (East Bridgewater, MA) and junior Brohen Krsulic (Brooklyn CT).


Three RIC grapplers placed sixth in their respective weight classes: Sophomore 133 lbs. Damen Patisaul (Plant City, FL), sophomore 141 lbs. Ricondo Cole (Cranston, RI) and junior Kyle Humphries (East Longmeadow, MA).


A number of the Anchormen were ill during the meet and were forced to take medical forfeits.


In upcoming action, Rhode Island College will compete at the 2014 New England Wrestling Association (NEWA) Dual Championship, hosted by Bridgewater State on Sunday, Jan. 26.