Junior Chandler Scott
Junior Chandler Scott

Weymouth, Mass.—The No. 4 seeded Rhode Island College men's tennis team was eliminated from the Little East Championship with a 5-2 setback vs. No. 1 UMass Boston in the semifinals of the conference tournament played at the Weymouth Club on Thursday afternoon.



UMass Boston 5, Rhode Island College 2

UMass Boston (10-5)

Rhode Island College (13-5)



• UMass Boston took the early advantage by winning two of the three doubles matches. The UMass Boston pairing of junior Ray Platteel (Holbrook, MA) and senior Guang Huang (Quincy, MA) posted an 8-3 win at No. 3 doubles over the RIC team of junior Matthew Gambardella (West Warwick, RI) and freshman Ethan Hoy (West Warwick, RI) for the first point of the afternoon.

• The Beacons tandem of freshman Miguel Beltran (Ashland, MA) and sophomore Onkgopotse Mokoka (Pretoria, South Africa) defeated RIC senior Brett Taggart (North Kingstown, RI) and freshman Alex Bourque (North Smithfield, RI) by a score of 8-6 to increase the lead to 2-0.

• RIC earned its first win of the day at No. 2 doubles as freshman Cam Chadwick (Narragansett, RI) and junior Chandler Scott (Ashaway, RI) downed UMB junior Josh Bhasin (Tulsa,  OK) and senior Austin DeLasse (Shrewsbury, MA) by a score of 9-7 to pull RIC within a point, 2-1, heading into singles play.

• Beltran defeated Taggart (7-6, 4-2) at No. 2 singles to give UMass Boston a 3-1 lead in the match.

• Bhasin then posted a (6-2, 6-1) win against Bourque at No. 3 singles to make the score 4-1.

• Gambardella gave the Anchormen their second point of the match as he notched a (6-3, 6-2) win over senior Sanshrut Sharma (Mumbai, India) to close the gap to 4-2.

• DeLasse then sealed the win for UMB as his (7-6, 6-2) win over Chadwick at the  No. 1 singles spot gave the Beacons the 5-2 victory for the match.

• Hoy and Mokoka were tied at 1-1 (4-6, 6-3) at No. 5 singles, while Esposito and junior Tin Tran (Quincy, MA) were also tied 1-1 (6-2, 4-6) at No. 6 singles when the match was stopped.



• The 13 wins for the Anchormen established a new school record for wins in a season.