2007 & 2008 Softball

2007 and 2008 Softball

Year Inducted: 2019

The 2007 and 2008 Rhode Island College Softball Teams are the fifth inductees into RIC’s Team Athletic Hall of Fame and the first female sports team to be honored.

The 2007 and 2008 editions are the most successful softball teams the college has ever fielded and already have had eight members enshrined into its Athletic Hall of Fame, with more expected in the future. 

These two teams were dominant in an era where the Anchorwomen won the Little East Regular Season Championship five years in a row from 2005 through 2009. RIC also won the conference tournament title during a four-year stretch from 2006 through 2009.

Head Coach Maria Morin guided the 2007 team to a 41-7 overall record, which included a 12-2 mark in the Little East. The club’s 41 wins are the most in a season in RIC history.

The Anchorwomen played in the NCAA Div. III Softball Tournament, clinching the New England Regional Championship and advancing to the National Championship Round in Salem, Virginia for the first time in program history.

Despite losing several key pieces to the club’s historic run in 2007, Rhode Island College completely reloaded with talent a year later in 2008 and the results were nearly identical.

The 2008 team finished the season with a 36-9 overall record and went 12-2 in the Little East. Once again, the Anchorwomen qualified for the NCAA Div. III Softball Tournament, won the N.E. Regional title and returned to Virginia for the College World Series.

The team finished the year ranked No. 10 in the nation, the highest ranking RIC softball has ever achieved.

During this two-year stretch, the Anchorwomen had two All-American selections, six All-N.E. award recipients, 12 All-Little East honorees and several Conference Player of the Year selections.